Thursday, January 16, 2014

January FINA Newsletter

FINA Newsletter
To Me
Jan 15 at 7:02 PM

  Newsletter #1 // January 15th 2014  
follow us FB   YOU   FB   FL
This newsletter provides you with background information and news on FINA's activities and upcoming events.
  world league: Montenegro, serbia and hungary strengthen lead  
  With the European preliminaries well underway for the men's and women's FINA Water Polo World League, 2014 promises to be another exciting year for water polo!

The third round of the men's preliminaries was held on January 14, with the teams of Hungary, Italy, Serbia and Montenegro each claiming a win.
2013 World League winner Serbia defeated Russia in Kazan 12-8 and now tops Group A with 6 points, which also includes Romania.
Meanwhile in Sibenik, visiting Hungary stunned 2012 Olympic champion Croatia, winning by a fingernail in penalty shootouts (8-7). The reigning World champions currently lead Group B with 5 points, ahead of Greece and Croatia.
In Group C, Montenegro and Italy secured the 1-2 spots with 9 and 6 points, respectively. In Herceg Novi, World silver medallist Montenegro had a solid win over Germany (13-10) while 2012 Olympic silver medallist Italy eclipsed Slovakia in Bergamo, scoring 12-5.
The next round will take place on February 11 with Romania to face Russia in Bucarest, Greece to receive Hungary in Athens (tbc), Germany to meet Italy in Torino and Montenegro to play Slovakia in Novaky.
The FINA Men's Intercontinental Water Polo Tournament - the World League's preliminary tournament between teams from the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania - will be organised in Shanghai (CHN) from May 26 to June 1, 2014.
Dubai (UAE) will host the Men's Super Final from June 16-21 featuring the eight best teams from the World League's preliminaries.
The European preliminaries for the women's competition resume next week, on January 21, with the third round of matches. Current World champion and 2012 Olympic silver medallist Spain will meet Great Britain in Barcelona while 2011 World champion Greece will pit their strength against World bronze medallist Hungary in Athens.
The Women's Intercontinental Tournament (Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania) will take place in the Los Angeles area (USA) from May 19 - 25, 2014. Beijing (CHN) will organise the women's Super Final from June 10-15, 2014.
  all results and rankings on  
  Open water swimmers to take the plunge in FINA pro circuits next month!  
  MellouliOn February 1, the world's finest marathon swimmers will gather to Argentina for the first race (Patagones-Viedma) of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2014.
The remaining six stages will take place in Manzanillo (MEX) on April 5, Setubal (POR) on June 28, Lac St. Jean (CAN) on July 24, Lac Magog (CAN) on July 31, Lac Megantic (CAN) on August 9, and Hong Kong (HKG) on October 4.
Germany's Thomas Lurz was the 2013 winner among men while American Emily Brunemann took top spot in the women's field.
One day later still in Argentina, swimmers will test their endurance and strategy skills in the first stop of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix, the 57km Santa Fe-Coronda race. The event, which provides open water swimmers with an opportunity to compete in some of the world's most spectacular waterways - rivers, lakes, ocean, etc. - features races ranging from 15km to 88km!
Seven meets are on this year's programme: the first two take place in Argentina (Santa Fe-Coronda on February 2 and Hernandarias on February 9) and will be followed by Manzanillo (MEX) on March 29, Lac St. Jean (CAN) on July 26, Lac Magog (CAN) on August 2, Ohrid Lake (MKD, dates tbc) and Capri-Napoli (ITA) on September 6.
Last year, Olga Kozydub from Russia and Argentina's Damian Blaum were the winners of the overall series.
  more on  
FINA Swimming World Cup 2014 calendar   In the spotlight
HosszuAn eight-leg calendar is announced for the FINA Swimming World Cup 2014, the annual world-class short-course swimming series.
For the first time, Doha (QAT) will host the curtain raiser, on August 27-28. Dubai (UAE) will stage the next event, before the series heads to Asia and Europe. As in 2013, the series is divided into three main clusters:

Cluster 1
August 27-28: Doha (QAT)
August 31-September 1*: Dubai (UAE)
Cluster 2
September 29-30: Hong Kong (HKG)
October 4-5*: Eindhoven (NED)
October 8-9: Moscow (RUS)
Cluster 3
October 24-25*: Beijing (CHN)**
October 28-29: Tokyo (JPN)
November 1-2: Singapore (SIN)
* dates to be confirmed
** place to be confirme